Nate Krahn wins the KSO11


The 2011 Kennett Square Open is now in the books!

On Saturday July 9th, 2011 at Anson B Nixon Park the Squares Disc Golf Club hosted the 2011 Kennett Square Open (KSO). The KSO tournament is a showcase of the long layout of our course. This is a challenging layout with par set at 63. We had 59 players on this beautiful summer day.

The first round saw Devon Frederick, John Genter, Nate Krahn and Jake Azato set the pace in the Open division with first round scores of 58, 59, 59 and 60. The second round in the Open division had Nate Krahn continue to shoot well with a 58 while Jay Klein made a huge run in the second group to score the lowest round of the day with a very hot score of 55! This put him in a tie with Nate at 117. It was sudden death at hole one with the entire gallery of players lined up to watch. Nate won the playoff and took first place and $215.

In the Advanced Am division we had Tommy Poplawski set the pace with a score of 62 and finished out front of the field with a final score of 128. Dan Clompus spent the entire day chasing Tommy but could not quite catch up and ended up 2 strokes out in the end. The layout made scores much higher than expected with only a few rounds under par for the day.

In the Masters division we had 10 players with Bryon McAlees scoring a 3 under par 60 in the first round. Jimi McIvain and Marc Schoettle set out to chase Bryon down but the first round score of 60 was just too much to overcome.

Grandmaster division had the minimum 3 entants with Trevor Willey taking home 1st place over Paul Kelly and Ray McLaughlin

Congrats to the only females in the Pro and Am divisions. Sue (Super took the Pro Women and Jenn Wardell claimed the Am Women div. In the Intermediate Am division 10 players with Brett Corday taking first place

This entry was posted in Results. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *